Looking For New (Improved) Editor 4

Well the time has come, as the walrus said. There is only a few weeks before we ‘go finis’. 
I didn’t get to do all that I had wanted to do with Pineapple Post. Not by a long shot. But it is still a great searchable archive of how, why, when and where of life in Honiara created by Jackie Eager before me and an active Facebook page that reaches a few thousand Solomon Islanders. And as I look up the first thing I wrote about how to register your car, so I can do it before we leave, I know that at least that one article has been very useful.

Instead of following up Jackie’s fine work I’ve spent far too much of my time sick or injured and wallowing in existential angst. But what a remarkable spot to be laid low and uninspired by dis-ease, dysfunction and hopelessness. My Gauguin moment in the tropics, but without either the productivity or the underage sex.

Anyway it is time to move up and on for me. And for someone else to take over the editorship of Pineapple Post blog and Facebook page, I hope. And for Pineapple Post it will hopefully be the dawning of a new and more productive period.

If someone is looking for a project on the side or a focus to their time here this could suit you or a small group of friends. It is a great opportunity to meet interesting people and explore the Solomon Islands and make a significant contribution to life in Honiara for, not only the expats, but also the thousands of locals linked through the Facebook page.

Thank you to all those who have helped and contributed over the last twelve months or so. And to everyone, live long and prosper.

So if you think you might be interested in taking on the editorship of Pineapple Post, or volunteer a friend, or just want to know more about all this, contact me asap.

Gerald 8966071 or pineapplepost@hotmail.com

Bye, bye!! – Linocut 120mm x 120mm Gerald Soworka

4 comments

  1. Hi Gerald,

    thanks a lot for this great Pineapple Post. It’s full of interesting and fun informations! Thank you for sharing all that with us all. I hope I see you both before you leave but if not, I wish you good luck wherever you are going to. Thank again!

    Cheers

    Chantal

    ________________________________

  2. you have done well Gerald no doubt you are leaving behind irreplaceable memories of your great times in Sollies – see you soon back in Townsville !! Hoping to be in Honiara end of March if your are still there then. Cheers Garry
    .

Leave a Reply

