Solomon Islands Visitors Bureau 1

The Solomon Islands Visitors Bureau is located in the heart of Honiara, next to the Mendana Hotel on Mendana Avenue. I popped my head in there recently for the first time and was left wondering why I hadn’t visited much, much earlier in my Solomon stay.

As soon as I entered I was welcomed with big smiles from the kind staff. A good greeting goes a long way and the one I received at the Visitors Bureau made me feel relaxed and at ease.

Visitors to Solomon Islands can get all kinds of information at the Visitors Bureau. They can help you plan your holiday by providing recommendations on hotels, tours, and travelling around the country. I have often thought about taking a trip from Guadalcanal to other islands but been unsure of the transport. Now I know where to find this out, I will be zooming around in no time.

The Visitors Bureau also runs a website www.visitsolomons.com.sb and a Facebook page for you to research your trip before landing at Henderson Airport.

The photos on the website gallery are pretty spectacular so if you’re looking for inspiration then I suggest checking it out. In fact, even if you’re not planning a trip, I think you should pour yourself a cup of tea, maybe a glass of wine or two, put on some island music and stare at the computer for a few minutes of pure relaxation. For a full emersion experience, maybe also dab on a little sunscreen.

The Visitors Bureau is open Monday – Friday 8am to 12pm and then 1pm to 4.30pm. You can also visit on Saturday mornings between 9am and 12pm. The Bureau is closed on Sundays. The contact number is (+677) 22442.

DSCN1393

One comment

  1. Pingback: Tenaru Falls « The Pineapple Post

Leave a Reply

