The Twelve Days of a Solomon Islands Christmas Reply

8315081203_55fb33e434_z

(Photo: Tim Hamilton)

Yay for Christmas time in the beautiful Solomon Islands! Last week I was at the International Tea Group’s Christmas function, where we all sat around together and sang the most marvellous rendition of The Twelve days of Christmas in Solomon style. Apparently, this Solomon’s version has been around for many years, with people editing it slightly as time has gone by.

Below are the lyrics for anyone who would like to get into the tropical Christmas mood. Remember to sing in the normal tune of The Twelve Days of Christmas.

 

On the first day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the second day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the third day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

6 megapodes laying

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

7 pigs a grunting

6 megapodes laying

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

8 geckoes mating

7 pigs a grunting

6 megapodes laying

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

9 fishers fishing

8 geckoes mating

7 pigs a grunting

6 megapodes laying

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

10 divers diving

9 fishers fishing

8 geckoes mating

7 pigs a grunting

6 megapodes laying

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

11 pan pipers piping

10 divers diving

9 fishers fishing

8 geckoes mating

7 pigs a grunting

6 megapodes laying

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree.

 

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me:

12 dolphins frolicking

11 pan pipers piping

10 divers diving

9 fishers fishing

8 geckoes mating

7 pigs a grunting

6 megapodes laying

5 cans of Solbrew

4 barking dogs

3 croaking toads

2 parakeets

and a crab in a coconut tree!

Leave a Reply

