Profile: Gareth Durrant Reply

GarethSIPPA

1. Where are you from and when did you arrive? 

Before this I was based in Melbourne and I’ve been here (Honiara) for 8 months.

2. What brings you to Solomon Islands? 

I’ve wanted to come to the Solomons since 2005. I’ve been waiting till I saw an assignment that was based here and in my field (sexual health). When I saw the gig at Solomon Island Planned Parenthood Association (SIPPA) I jumped at the opportunity.

3. What’s your favourite thing to do here?

Condom demonstrations. I love my work and part of that is talking about how to use condoms and breaking down stigma surrounding sex and family planning. 

4. What’s the most amazing thing you’ve done in your life? 

Graduating from university was a big deal for me. I completed my undergraduate degree at a Mandarin speaking university, I did every exam I ever had in Mandarin and some more than once (I failed calculus five times).

5. If you could give others one piece of advice, what would it be? 

Two words, Tracy Chapman. The rest will work itself out.

6. What is the worst advice you have ever received?

The rest will work itself out, I mean who says that?

The Solomon Islands Planned Parenthood Association (SIPPA) provides family planning and related services through clinics, community-based distribution (CBD) and integrated health activities. It’s strongly supported by the government which provides funding for seminars and educational materials, laboratory services, and the transport and delivery of imported goods.

The distribution of contraceptives, especially condoms, has been a significant component in SIPPA’s work. It operates 71 distinct service points, with 5 permanent clinics, 3 mobile units and 60 community-based distributors (CBDs) operating across the provinces of Malaita, Western Choiseul, Central Islands, Makira, Rennel, and Bellona. (International Planned Parenthood Federation). 

To learn more about the work of SIPPA, you can contact them on 22991.

Leave a Reply

