Talented Designers at Youth Market Reply

IMG_4226

Annsmith, Stella and Joyce with their hand made jewellery, t-shirts and other textiles. They sold me some gorgeous orange, glitter earrings.

If you were near the art gallery space in Honiara late last week,  you probably heard the exciting sounds of the Youth Market. The stage was occupied by singing and dancing performances, and the grounds busy with market stalls. The market stalls included food, jewellery, carvings, t-shirt design, painting, clothes, bags and more.

This regular event, organised by Youth@Work, provides an opportunity for young entrepreneurs to sell their goods. The market also allows for Honiara to view the skills and talent of the countries youth, which I can report is well worth seeing!

IMG_4220

Face painting artist at work

IMG_4225

Ruddy (P.Inc) at the Youth Market, displaying t-shirts that he has designed 

As it’s my brother’s birthday coming up, I decided to buy him a t-shirt from P.Inc. P.Inc designs are described on their Facebook page as ‘urban’ and  ‘cultural ‘. I describe them as really, really cool! The plain t-shirts come from Fiji , and then  the designs are put onto the shirts in Solomon Islands. They are good quality shirts and very well printed. I chose a giant robot print for $60 but I was also very tempted by the camera design. Now I’m thinking more about it, I should have just bought both.

IMG_4224Camera shirt by P.Inc

IMG_4245

The robot short that I bought, printed by P.Inc

I finished off my visit to the Youth Market with a waffle ice cream from Frangipani Ice who had many flavours available to choose from. I listened to the performances, eating my ice cream quickly before it melted all over my hands. The music, positive vibe and yummy food made for a great atmosphere and I look forward to the next Youth Market which is to be held June 5, 6, 7 and will have the theme of ‘Our Environment, Our Future’.

IMG_4232

If you are a young person in Honiara and are interested in having a stall at the next market, call Youth@Work on 25278. Youth@Work also run free 7-week training courses for those youth wishing to learn business basics. To register for July classes, call 25278 by 30 June.

IMG_4240

The stage where much of the action happened

 

Leave a Reply

