Multipurpose Tortillas Reply

By Jackie Eager

IMG_3681

For the past few weeks I’ve been searching in the shops for tortillas, or wrap bread, with little luck.

I’ve been trying to cut down on naughty food and so thought some lettuce and carrot wraps for lunch would help me avoid all the gorgeous fish and chips on offer around Honiara.  Sure, I could just order a salad but somehow, I always get to the counter and ‘fish and chips’ are the only words that are spoken. Occasionally ‘burger with chips’ also makes an appearance but never does the word ‘salad’ get uttered.

Then it hit me, why don’t I just make my own? So I searched through a few recipe books and did a little experimenting and it was a success. I hope you like the very basic recipe below. While my food photography leaves a little to be desired, the bread was great as tortillas for dinner and then as wraps for lunch.

Ingredients (makes 12)

  • 4 cups of plain flour
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • 1 ½ cups of water
  • 5 tablespoons of olive oil

Method

  • Sift the flour and salt into a large bowl. Stir in the water and oil.
  • Combine it all together with your hands. Take dough out of the bowl once it’s mixed and knead for about five minutes.
  • Put it back in the bowl and let it rest for 15 minutes
  • Divide into 12 round balls. Take one ball and roll it out into a circle of your desired sized tortilla. You will probably need extra flour here to make sure your tortilla doesn’t stick to the bench.
  • Cook in a fry-pan for a couple of minutes each side. Repeat with the remaining dough ballsIMG_3674
Leave a Reply

